Captured By Love

You bask in the sun

with your jaws agape,

eager to feast upon my softest flesh.

I’ll admit

I have allowed myself to be captured

by your scaly lips and glittering eyes;

I have always been a fool for your luring gaze.

The sharpness of your words

surrounding the tenderness of my flesh

like teeth penetrating

to my vulnerable heart.

I know to you,

I seem at your complete mercy—

a helpless prisoner against your tongue,

but your have forgotten,

I too, am a wild thing

and have escaped greater traps.

©2016 Katie Pifer http://www.witchpetals.wordpress.com

fish

Leave a Reply

