Pirate

I was overboard in my love,

easily walking your plank,

jumping into unknown depths.

 

The treasure of my heart

pirated away,

its ballad,

marooned

on a deserted island.

Scars,

X etched upon my heart,

marking location,

human parchment map.

 

Captain hook,

your blackened heart,

surgical precision

maiming my love with that shining weapon.

Was your hand taken by a previous lover?

Thieves marked handless;

your greed betrays you.

 

My heart only glitters in my chest,

no treasure chest,

leaving dull steel,

an empty meat hook.

2015 copyright by Katie Pifer witchpetals.wordpress.com

map 1

One thought on “Pirate

Leave a Reply

