The Magic of Tree Houses

When I was young,

I believed

whole heartedly

in the magic of tree houses.
Somehow,

a platform of wood,

nails,

became the diving board

of imagination.

Once skinny dipping

in the pool of fantasy,

I could disengage

from the pretenses

of who I should

or shouldn’t be,

finding myself whole,

pure,

powerful,

thriving in the energy

of who I truly was.

I find myself escaping,

defecting,

a refugee

from the world

into a paradise,

magical land

precariously balanced

in the limbs

of my father’s

crabapple tree.

2015 copyright by Katie Pifer http://www.witchpetals.wordpress.com

tree house

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Magic of Tree Houses

  1. I just want to tell you that I love all of your stuff. I always read it, and truly appreciate your perspective and beautiful voice you share by your poetry. Blessed be, today and always. Carol A. Wells

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

