What is Muscle Testing or Applied Kinesiology, (AK)?

So muscle testing, or kinesiology, is a way of talking with the body to discover information, another form of it is finger dowsing.  There are various types of muscle testing, gross and fine motor, you have probably experienced it if you have been in a physical therapy or Chiropractic office.  Here is a definition from Dr. Andy Weil, MD:
“Kinesiology, also known as biomechanics, is the study of body movement. Applied kinesiology (AK) which is also know as muscle strength testing, is a method of diagnosis and treatment based on the belief that various muscles are linked to particular organs and glands, and that specific muscle weakness can signal distant internal problems such as nerve damage, reduced blood supply, chemical imbalances or other organ or gland problems. Practitioners contend that by correcting this muscle weakness, you can help heal a problem in the associated internal organ.”

http://www.drweil.com/drw/u/ART03410/Applied-Kinesiology.html

His focus is of course on the body and health aspects, but the technique can be used in many different ways.  Here is a short history of muscle testing so you can see how it evolved:

History of Kinesiology
Part I

Applied Kinesiology (AK) is a practice of using manual muscle-strength testing for medical diagnosis and for the determination of prescribed therapy. It gives feedback on how the body is doing.

It originated in 1964 through the work of Dr. George Goodheart, a Chiropractor who pioneered this specialty. He discovered that the strength or weakness of every muscle was connected to the health or lack of health of a specific corresponding organ. He also determined that the indicator muscles were associated with acupuncture meridians.

He found that “beneficial” physical stimuli, like vitamins supplements, would increase the strength of certain indicator muscles that he tested. In addition, he saw that “hostile” stimuli would cause those muscles to go weak. To him, this implied that at a deep level, the body knows what is “good” for it and what is not.

History of Kinesiology Part II

Clinical Kinesiology came out of Applied Kinesiology. In 1968, Dr. Alan Beardallwho had just graduated as a Chiropractor became one of Dr. Goodheart’s students. He went on to develop over 250 specific muscle tests to diagnose and evaluate structural, chemical, and mental aspects of health.

During a muscle test on a patient in 1983, Dr. Beardall discovered that particular hand positions (handmodes) could change the body’s response to the muscle test. This allowed this method of diagnosis to discover deeper, more underlying imbalances in the body’s energy patterns.

Today, many hundreds of “handmodes” have been discovered as “words” in a new body language.

History of Kinesiology Part III

Behavioral Kinesiology is also a refinement of Applied Kinesiology. In the late 1970’s, Dr. John Diamond, who worked as a psychiatrist and also with preventative medicine, made another discovery. He found that indicator muscles would strengthen or weaken in the presence of positive or negative emotional and intellectual stimuli, not just physical stimuli.

He began to use this tool to diagnose and treat psychiatric patients. He called it Behavioral Kinesiology. He also found the link between specific emotions and acupuncture meridians. A partial list is found in the Acupuncture Meridians page.

Dr. Diamond researched the effects of things like: music, art forms, facial expressions, voice modulation and emotional stress. Others were focusing on using muscle testing to detect allergies, nutritional disorders, and responses to medications.”

http://www.healing-with-eft.com/history-of-kinesiology.html

Okay, so why am I talking about this in terms of witchcraft or spiritual aspects?   I’m talking to you about it because I am a finger dowser.  I muscle test all of the time to get answers from spirit.  It is equivalent to using a pendulum or other tool to divine answers, but this uses the body’s energetic system to do so.  I am an Empath and my abilities have developed in a way that my entire body is like a barometer for messages and energy shifts.  Different feelings or sensations in my body mean different things.  When I am connecting with spirit I and furiously moving my fingers testing for answers.  I can test if I need a certain energy, food, drink, etc.  I can locate a spirit in a room or house, I can detect if there is more than one, I can find out a lot of information very quickly and accurately.  For me it was a starting point to communication with my guides.  Now I get messages in lots of different ways, but I do use this method daily, and I mean all day! For me this is where science and magic are coming together, and that interests me immensely.

Here is a nice resource for different styles of finger dowsing or fine motor muscle testing.

Number of ways to test yourself:

http://angelguides.com/how-to-muscle-test-yourself/

So I am encouraging you to test it out.  Try it for yourself.  It didn’t happen for me all of a sudden or over night.  It took a while.  I had to clear my energy and open up so that the energy could flow. Honestly, though once it started flowing, it changed my life and I have never looked back.

If you want more information on dowsing in general, here’s the link to an article that I wrote:

https://witchpetals.wordpress.com/2016/03/01/what-is-dowsing/

Check it out!

2016 copyright by Katie Pifer available at http://www.witchpetals.wordpress.com

 

 

finger-dowsing

Leave a Reply

