What Do I Know Of Love?

A sound, a look, a touch,

syrup words upon lips.

Will love know my name?

Calling it again and again,

come closer, love whispers,

sit with me awhile,

hold my hand,

kiss my cheek.

 

Will love remember me in later years?

Cradled in love’s arms,

small and frail,

withered and drying,

thirsty for love’s sweet wine,

tonic to strengthen my heart.

 

How will I recognize love

when it has been gone

to war for so many years?

A returning soldier,

yellow ribbon upon my heart,

veteran to so many battles,

wounded, maimed,

traumatized,

yet,

still moving forward.

2015 copyright by Katie Pifer, available at http://www.witchpetals.wordpress.com

heart with a patch

Leave a Reply

